To Resolute Or Not To Resolute…

We have come to that week before New Year’s day, where we all start to ponder on ‘New Year’s Resolutions’.

In all honestly, I have never made ‘New Year’s Resolutions’ but rather opting for ‘Birthday Resolutions’. Unfortunately, even with that I cannot say that I have been very successful.

So, this year I have decided  to jump on the band wagon and make some ‘New Year’s Resolutions’.

Wikipedia’s definition:

“A New Year’s Resolution is a commitment that an individual makes to a project or the reforming of a habit, often a lifestyle change that is generally interpreted as advantageous.”

Advantageous? Ok, let’s see. I could eat less chocolate and in turn lose some weight but how “advantaegous” will this be to others around me?  There are some days where I am so annoyed and irritated that I want to whop some people over the head and all that calms me down is a good, yummy, calorie-filled chocolate.  So I ask myself: Do I go for less choc and become sexy, yet aggressive or do I remain chubby and sweet?? Hmmm… Really going to have to think about this one. Lol!

Here are examples from Wiki of common resolutions:

  • Improve health: lose weight, exercise more, eat better, drink less alcohol, quit smoking
  • Improve finances: get out of debt, save money
  • Improve career: get a better job
  • Improve education: improve grades, get a better education, learn something new (such as a foreign language or music)
  • Improve self: become more organized, reduce stress, be less grumpy, manage time, be more independent
  • Take a trip
  • Quit smoking
  • Volunteer to help others

In all seriousness, I know that I will be doing some things very differently this coming year and also doing some new things.  I am not delusional, so I know that at times it will be frustrating and I will want to throw in the towel. Yet I know it will be “advantageous” for my life.

If you are making resolutions, I wish you the very best and I pray that you have more discipline, courage and determination to pull through in 2011!

Be awesomely blessed. 🙂

Cláudia

Leave a comment

No comments yet.

Comments RSS TrackBack Identifier URI

Leave a Reply

