The Army of the Lord

The joke goes like this:

A friend was in front of me coming out of church one day, and the preacher was standing at the door as he always is to shake hands. He grabbed my friend by the hand and pulled him aside.
The Pastor said to him, “You need to join the Army of the Lord!”
My friend replied, “I’m already in the Army of the Lord, Pastor.”
Pastor questioned, “How come I don’t see you except at Christmas and Easter?”
He whispered back, “I’m in the secret service.”

I must admit that I had a good laugh when I first heard this joke but then I actually started to think about it.

I know so many people, who have the same “secret service” attitude. Who only go to church for “special occassions” like Christmas, Easter, weddings etc.

How sad! And what a pity that they are missing out on hearing the Lord’s word, on a regular basis and growing closer to Him.

I have lost a couple of “friends” on Facebook because I am “too Christian for our liking and you are too open about it!”.

Hmmm…. should I have been insulted or upset by it?? Not at all because:

1. They were never really actually friends but people I had met 15 years ago for probably 15 minutes and they chose to add me as their friend.

2. It saddened me,yes,  and makes me just continue to pray for them that they will have change of heart and get to experience this joy and love that I feel for the Lord.

3. It makes me happy that I am “too Christian”! I would rather lose all my 180 friends on Facebook than lose what I have with my Lord and Saviour, Jesus Christ!!

I am not in the “Secret Service” but that I am in the front lines, “fighting” visibly for His Glory, for all to see. My love for Him is no Secret, the fact that I live my life for Him, is no Secret. 🙂

Be awesomely blessed!

Cláudia

Leave a comment

No comments yet.

Comments RSS TrackBack Identifier URI

Leave a Reply

