‘FIT FOR HIM’ TUESDAY

Welcome to my first posting of ‘Fit For Him’ Tuesday.

I decided to start these on a Tuesday because people always say: “I’ll start my diet on Monday” or “I’ll start exercising on Monday”… but how many times, has Monday come and gone and you still haven’t started that diet or your exercise program, that you spent hours planning?

The Sunday night before, you have it all planned: “I will get up 30 minutes earlier and jog 5km. Then I will make myself the healthiest fruit and yoghurt Smoothie in the world. Low calories all day! Yes! I am doing this and sticking to it!!”

Monday morning comes, alarm clock goes off, punctually, as planned,30 minutes earlier… you moan and stretch to switch the alarm off. Your mind is so ready for the plan to get into action and then the most incredible thing happens, your finger seems to have developed a mind of its own and decides for you that it should hit the snooze button instead. “Just 5 more minutes then you can get up and do this”… 5 minutes….10 minutes… 15 … before you know it, you have overslept, need to get ready for work and there went your ‘Monday workout’.

You rush into the kitchen, grab a coffee and slice of toast and there goes the world’s healthiest Smoothie idea out the window.

“Tomorrow. I will start tomorrow. Yes! I am doing this and sticking to it!!” Famous last words?

Trust me, I speak from experience. I have been there too.

There was a time when, I was in the swimming pool training for hours on end and if I wasn’t in the pool, I was at the gym twice a day. I thrived on it. But then I got ill with cancer, stopped all exercise and once I was better, I just couldn’t find myself getting back into the routine.

The treatment I was on for the cancer, caused me to put on 20kg in 8 months. No diet which I followed strictly, prevented me from gaining the weight. It was out of my control. The weight piled on. I went from super toned and skinny to let’s say, super voluptuous… I try to avoid the word ‘fat’. Though that is exactly what I was.

Years after stopping treatment, I still struggled to lose the weight. Regardless of how well, I stuck to diets and exercise I did, I just couldn’t “shake” it off. The toxins in my body, from the medication, didn’t help the situation and took over 3 years to clear out my body.  Once they did, I still struggled to lose the weight, only losing a couple of kilos. Only in the last 6 months, have I been able to lose 12kgs.

“What’s your secret, Cláudia??” “Give me your diet!” This leaves me speechless because I wish I could bring out a writing pad and start scribbling a diet plan for everyone but the truth is, I have no secret diet.

It doesn’t come in a tablet form. It doesn’t come in a ‘Diet Shake’. It’s not a lotion if rubbed on twice a day, inches disappear off your hips.  (I never got this whole lotion scam that people fall for…)

My diet is available to everyone. It’s free. Can be used as many times a day as wished and needed and it comes packaged in “Prayer”!

Yes, years and years of prayer.

And like every diet, there is a catch… not only Prayer… BUT reading the Lord’s Word and seeing what He says about health, fitness and one’s body. And…. sorry to add… but nutrition and exercise do also come into play.

When you start to read this and meditate on what the Lord says about you and your body, you just automatically, almost subconsciously, start to take care of yourself. Watching what you eat, exercising, taking care of yourself because after all the bible says in 1 Corinthians 6:19-20 (NIV):

19Do you not know that your body is a temple of the Holy Spirit, who is in you, whom you have received from God? You are not your own; 20you were bought at a price. Therefore honour God with your body.”

For me personally, I have a heart and desire to serve the Lord. And I want to do it as best as I can for Him and to give my 100%. No, my 110%. Actually, let’s make that 200%. 🙂

For that, I need to be not only “Physically Fit” but also “Faith Fit”.

I just need to be, all round

“FIT FOR HIM!”

From next Tuesday, I will start to share more on what I have found the Bible says on this topic and I will also share tips and ideas for eating plans and exercise, etc. that I have found to work for me, in the last 6 months.

So stay “tuned” and let’s together be ‘FIT FOR HIM’.

Be awesomely blessed! 🙂

Cláudia

Leave a comment

No comments yet.

Comments RSS TrackBack Identifier URI

Leave a Reply

