God’s Box of Chocolates

One of the most famous movie quotes, comes from the movie Forrest Gump:

“My momma always said, “Life was like a box of chocolates. You never know what you’re gonna get.”  (I can even hear him saying it, in his accent)

In life, this saying is very true in many ways. We get up every morning, kind of knowing what our day might have in store for us because we have the usual routines or plans, of going to work, getting the kids ready for school and driving them around, going grocery shopping, walking, etc. But it’s the little details in our routines and plans that leave us completely unsure of what the day might hold for us.

I love the nutty centre-filled chocolates and biting into one makes me smile and think it couldn’t be more perfect. Then there are times I bite into bitter chocolate and shudder in disgust and have a sense of disappointment.

And it’s the same when our plans go according to plan, we couldn’t be happier but when our plans go wrong and “bitter”, we are so disappointed.

What gives me peace, joy and comfort is in knowing that God knows the little details of my day and life. God knows what kind of filling is in the centre of my day and what I will be getting. I believe, He wants the best for me and He will give me something that I like, even though I might not think at the time, that I do.

God makes promises for our lives and He keeps his promises:

Hebrews 6: 18  “ So God has given both his promise and his oath. These two things are unchangeable because it is impossible for God to lie. Therefore, we who have fled to him for refuge can have great confidence as we hold to the hope that lies before us.”

So, as you get up every morning and go about your day, thank the Lord for His promises and His plans for your life. Praise Him and worship Him, for whatever might come your way this day, even being unsure of what it might be. This confidence, belief, hope and faith in our Lord is more delicious and satisfying than any of your favourite chocolates.

So, indulge and devour and binge on the Word and seek Him and His promises for you.

Psalm 34:8  “Taste and see that the LORD is good; blessed is the man who takes refuge in him.”

Be awesomely blessed! 🙂

Cláudia

Leave a comment

No comments yet.

Comments RSS TrackBack Identifier URI

Leave a Reply

