Waiting on God

My laptop has informed me, that if I do not format it urgently, it will be picking up its ‘Picket Sign’ and go on a permanent strike.  As I can’t afford for it to quit on me, I will be listening to its demands and sorting it out.

Therefore, I will not be able to write in-depth personal messages in the next few days but I will try to post articles from outside sources, that have touched me personally.
I hope that they touch you too.

Be awesomely blessed! 🙂

Cláudia


Waiting on God
~ Russ Lawson

 Waiting on God is where a lot of us are in our lives right now. 
We wait for healing (emotionally and physically). We wait for our
relationship to improve, we wait for a job, we wait for some 
indication of what God would like us to be doing with our lives 
or where he would like us to be in this world. We wait for help, 
we wait to help others, we wait for our life to change in such a
way as to find fulfillment, joy or happiness. But the bottom line
is that we wait. 

The question which perhaps we need to consider is "How do we wait 
on God?" I've dealt with this idea in the past, but here are some
new suggestions from God's word. You may remember reading the 
passage from Psalm 27:14 which says, "Wait on the LORD: be of good
courage, and he shall strengthen thine heart: wait, I say, on the 
LORD." (KJV) There are some interesting points which you might not 
have thought of before in reading this passage. 

In this passage, David tells us how to wait. He said, "Wait on the 
Lord, be of good courage". The Hebrew word for courage here has 
this definition: "to strengthen, prevail, harden, be strong, become
strong, be courageous, be firm, grow firm," (Strong's Dictionary of 
the New Testament). 
This "courage" then carries the idea of waiting with commitment. It
is having made up our minds to dig in our heels and stand fast in 
our belief in God and his power over the universe, no matter what. 
There will be no circumstances, no difficulty which is going to 
change the way we believe in our all powerful God. 

If we understand this concept, then perhaps we need to ask 
ourselves, "What am I willing to put up with", "what am I 
willing to suffer", "for how long am I willing to wait for my
answer or my deliverance" and most important, "What if I never
receive my answer or deliverance in this life?" 

Think about the message found in Hebrews 11. You most likely are 
familiar with verses 1-3 which read: "Now faith is being sure of
what we hope for and certain of what we do not see. This is what
the ancients were commended for. By faith we understand that the
universe was formed at God’s command, so that what is seen was not
made out of what was visible." (NIV) 

Then in Hebrews 11:4-11 we see a list of people who waited on God. 
People like Abel, Enoch, Noah, Abraham, Isaac, Jacob and Sarah. 
But notice especially verse 13 which says; "All these people were 
still living by faith when they died. They did not receive the 
things promised; they only saw them and welcomed them from a 
distance. And they admitted that they were aliens and strangers
on earth." (NIV)

You see, these folks discovered the key to waiting with 
commitment! They never received that for which they were waiting,
but they realized that the earth was not really their home. 
They realized who was really in control. 

How about you, to what are you looking forward to in your future, 
what are you truly waiting for? For me an old hymn sums it up when 
it says, "My hope is built on nothing less, than Jesus blood and 
righteousness". 

For what are you waiting? My prayer is that you may find the 
courage, commitment and the faith in you heart to wait upon the
Lord. 
Leave a comment

No comments yet.

Comments RSS TrackBack Identifier URI

Leave a Reply

